Skip to content

Offer for Screenwriters: Free Script Consultation

January 21, 2013

For some time now I’ve been wanting to get into the field of screenplay consulting, and I’ve decided that 2013 is the year to pursue that objective. Over the years I’ve gotten overwhelmingly positive responses to feedback I’ve given to friends and colleagues, in writing groups, from reviews here on the blog, and from suggesting “fixes” to bad movies on Down in Front. Moreover, I enjoy a good story and the opportunity to help someone tell it.

To really make a run at this, however, I’ll need to be able to sell myself to the broader market of screenwriters who have no idea who I am and aren’t going to take the time to scour my Twitter stream or blog or listen to episodes of a podcast to find out. While I intend to introduce my services at competitive rates, I’ll still need to be able to convince writers — who, generally speaking, are not in a position to throw money around indiscriminately — that my services are worth the investment.

The bread and butter of what I’ll offer will be 3-5 pages of notes on feature-length screenplays. When I launch the site for this venture, I want to be able to show examples of the kind of notes I give, as well as testimonials by writers I’ve worked with. And that’s where you guys come in.

I am offering to provide my services — read, critique, and advise on your feature screenplay — to up to three writers, free of charge. In lieu of paying for the services, the writers must agree to allow me to post the notes on my site (with title, author, and character names redacted), as well as agree to provide a brief testimonial about the experience.

If you would like to be considered, please submit the title of the screenplay you would like me to critique, and a brief logline, to dorkman.notes(at)gmail.com. Please do not send the script unless I write back requesting it. Emails with attachments will be deleted unread. Selected writers will be asked to sign a release form before submitting their work.

I’ll be accepting submissions through the week and contacting writers by the weekend. The goal, for me, will be to get a variety of types of scripts to show my “range,” so to speak. So if you don’t get selected, don’t worry, it’s not at all a judgment of your screenplay idea or writing ability.

I look forward to working with you!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Hey Mike/Michael/Dorkman,

    This sounds like a great idea and a really decent method to not only promote yourself and advance your career, but also improve future screenplays. Hopefully some people take you up on your offer and something fruitful comes of it.

    If you’re looking to get the proverbial ball rolling and produce some examples of your work, would it be possible to give notes on previously released (and unsolicited) screenplays? Those of us who are familiar with DIF are aware of your treatments and notes for previously discussed films (Star Wars prequels, Matrix Sequels, Looper, etc.), but if you wanted you could give those or similar scripts a ‘consultation’.

    I’m not sure if copyright law would be a concern, but I feel like as long as you are not trying to sell the scripts or pass of the work as your own, you should be safe.

    Just an idea and hopefully you will get enough demand from others that you don’t need to work on these. Could be an interesting exercise nonetheless.

    Good luck.

  2. Also meant to include this:

    http://beta.publicma.de/categories/film

    I just saw it on reddit. I guess the basic idea behind it is crowd-sourced screenplays. If you haven’t heard of it I thought it may be relevant to your interests.

Leave a Reply

