Skip to content

Vegas, baby!

May 24, 2009

So, yesterday was fun. 

Anyone following my Twitter knows that I took a trip to Vegas that lasted from 9 AM yesterday to 8 AM this morning. Anthony got (really great) tickets to the big UFC event through a friend of a friend, so we took a jaunt out to Sin City for the evening. 

I’m not generally a UFC watcher, but after that I might be. Had a great time. Afterward we went to a couple of clubs and got the VIP treatment there, also thanks to the friend of a friend.[1]

Got out of there at around 3 AM and drove straight through the night. And then when I got back I went to bed and I was out. It was probably the most fun I’ve had in Vegas — and I’ve had some good times. 

So I don’t have a Secular Sunday post, but I will say that anyone who doesn’t believe we not only came from apes, but still are apes, needs to watch some UFC. When a fighter pins the other guy down and goes all 2001 on his face with both fists, and the audience is shrieking like howler monkeys, our primal roots are on display for all to see. 

Still aiming to get a T4 review up, but Quint at Ain’t It Cool covers a lot of the ground I would, so if you want to know what I thought, that’s a good taste of it. No spoilers in that review — although one of the failings of the film in my estimation is that it contains nothing interesting or surprising enough to spoil.


  1. I’m not going to say who because (a) namedropping is tacky as hell, and (b) I don’t want to screw things up for a possible repeat of the weekend.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. http://www.ctrlaltdel-online.com/comic.php?d=20090518 😀

    To watch it remotely and to be there are different things… like many sports… except where they are equally boring like golf, tennis, weight lifting, curling, figure skating, chess, poker, chutes and ladders, table tennis, shuffleboard, wine tasting… anything where others frown upon people bellowing during the competition… unless one adds the phrase “full-contact” to the above-mentioned events where other may actually encourage bellowing.

    “Full-contact” anything gives allowance for bellowing, I think.

    • “Full-contact” anything gives allowance for bellowing, I think.

      LOL. Full contact golf could be fairly awesome. 😉

Leave a Reply

