Skip to content

A terrible tragedy

April 13, 2009

I kind of don’t know what to say about this other than that it’s a horrible tragedy. But I, and the person who uploaded this video, can’t help but notice the cruel irony of someone so on fire for da Lawd, someone so obsessed with the notion that atheists are “angry,” committing such a heinous act. 

I’m not saying that his religion necessarily led him to do this. But I think it’s important to note that his god did nothing to stop it. A loving god would have every reason to prevent a madman from carrying out these kinds of criminal acts in his name, a vested interest in protecting his reputation and even demonstrating that he loves and cares for all people. That’s what he wants us to believe, isn’t it? That’s the faith we’re supposed to have. 

Instead, nothing. Nothing. If a god is watching, then he is an accessory in this crime if not the perpetrator. He may even be malevolent, he may have wanted this to happen and enjoyed it as it did. 

Or, the most likely case, there is nobody watching, and that’s why nobody acted from on high. 

I say again, I’m not accusing his religious beliefs of inciting him to homicide, but it goes back to some questions in recent comments: why didn’t his god work in his heart to prevent him from doing such a thing as this? Why doesn’t religious belief have a statistical effect on its adherents for moral behavior if it is supposed to be so intricately tied to the source of morality? 

This is not an emotional appeal regarding my lack of belief in a god, though it does impact me emotionally. My point is: even granting you that a god does exist, if you ask me to believe that he is good and kind and loving, if you ask me to apply faith where it really counts, I can only point to this.

I would say I’d laugh in your face, but I don’t feel like laughing about anything at the moment. 

From → rants, religion, YouTube

6 Comments
  1. I hate to say it, but it does not prove anything either way.

    Someone will come here and say that there must be a reason God let this happen. Wait for someone to come in and use the time-travel Hitler-murder thingy as an argument (which will essentially suggest that one or both of those two were going to become Hitlers unless they were stopped — guilty without proof). We cannot abide by that kind of rule, but apparently some can and prefer it (so far).

    I believe someone just needed medication. Pills suck. I really do not like them myself, but sometimes, they are necessary, but the effect from the direct cause of medication is real and identifiable instead of an assumption that there was some unknown (and never to be known) reason decided by something that must choose not to explain itself.

    As I mentioned in a previous comment, an all-powerful being would be able to make people understand why it did or did not act on something even when they cannot see the result of the actions.

    Yet, that is just the way I see it.

    • Of course it doesn’t prove anything. No one said it did. What it does do is stand as evidence against assertions such as:
      1.) God (if he exists) is an all-powerful, all-knowing and benevolent being. Such a god would have a vested interest in somehow stopping this from happening, and certainly would have the means to do so. An all-knowing god would also know how to come to a similar end effect without the loss of innocent lives.

      2.) God is the source of our morality. If this were the case, you would see a statistical difference in the crime rate and divorce rate of believers compared to non-believers.

      • Ray permalink

        I don’t think that God is so much a source of mortality as a powerful example. We still have to choose to be good. If God just made us good, just cleaned up our messes for us, we could not evolve and would not learn the value of love. Like if a parent would swoop in to solve a child’s problems, the child would never learn to deal with life.

        I know this contradicts the belief that God is all powerful. But these days I’m wondering if that too is a perceptional thing. My dad sure looked all powerful when I was a kid. But I still got hurt sometimes. The greatest act of love that he showed me was teaching me how to stand on my own two feet, and that didn’t come without elements of danger as I begun to explore life.

        Then again, I’ve heard people tell me to look at things like this and say that it was just his body that died, and his soul is safe. I’m not sure I believe that either. Not only is that kind of a cop out, but even if God isn’t out there, a soul that gives up on itself is an equally sad tragedy.

        Events like this do challenge my belief in God.

  2. Ethan Stech permalink

    Hello, Mr. Dorkman. I recently happened upon the RvD videos on Youtube and they are very nicely done. Through a chain of events, I found your blog.

    I am a Christian, and as such disagree with this. I think you might be interested in my blog post on Materialism. Feel free to check it out and any other parts of the blog if you so desire. Nice to have met you. The link is below:

    http://edsnotofthisworld.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/materialism-and-the-reality-of-god/

    Take care,
    Ethan Stech

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Skeptical Sunday: Refuting “Materialism”(?) « Dorkman’s Blog
  2. Re: Materialism and the Reality of God Part 1 « Let No Man Despise Thy Youth

Leave a Reply

